Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Two ARHU Faculty Members Named Graduate Faculty Mentors Of The Year

May 27, 2020 Communication | Philosophy


Anita Atwell Seate of communication and Peter Carruthers of philosophy received the recognition, given by the Graduate School.

By ARHU Staff 

Professor in the Department of Communication Anita Atwell Seate and Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Philosophy Peter Carruthers were selected to receive Graduate Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards, given by the Graduate School. The award recognizes faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to a student’s (or students’) graduate experience.

headshot of Anita Atwell Seate

Atwell Seate, who researches in the area of intergroup/intercultural communication, called working with graduate students “one of the most rewarding aspects” of her work. 

Carruthers, who primarily researches in the areas of philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology and cognitive science, said: “I am grateful to receive the award.” 

headshot of Peter Carruthers

Atwell Seate and Carruthers will each receive an honorarium of $1,000 to support mentoring activities. Both said they planned to use the money to fund their graduate students’ ongoing work and travel. 

This year, 216 graduate students nominated 30 faculty for the Graduate Faculty Mentor of the Year Award and 10 faculty members were named.

Images courtesy of Atwell Seate and Carruthers.